American Cancer Society Honors Outstanding Volunteers with the St. George National Award


American Cancer Society Honors Outstanding Volunteers with the St. George National Award

Award recognizes 23 volunteers across the country for their distinguished service

Atlanta, GA – July 20, 2017 – The American Cancer Society awarded 23 inspirational individuals from across the country the St. George National Award, one of the Society’s most prestigious volunteer honors. The award recognizes individuals for outstanding service to the community in support of the Society’s mission to save lives from cancer. Recipients were chosen based on their continuous leadership, commitment, and dedication to key initiatives in more than one area of fundraising, mission delivery, patient support, legislative advocacy, and special event engagement.

Since it was conceived in 1949 by Dr. Charles S. Cameron, former Society medical and scientific director, the St. George National Award has been presented annually to Society volunteers nationwide. To be nominated, a volunteer must have served as a leader in the Society’s community initiatives for a minimum of six continuous years and must have made a significant impact on the Society’s strategic goals and mission-driven programs. Nominations are made by local staff and approved by the St. George National Award Task Force.

“These extraordinary volunteers deserve to be recognized for their dedicated leadership and time to eliminate cancer as a major health problem,” said Arnold M. Baskies, MD, FACS, chair of the American Cancer Society Board of Directors. “Their commitment to and passion for our mission is remarkable.”

The 2017 recipients include:

  • Josephine “Josie” Abboud, RN, BSN, MBA, FACHE (Omaha, NE)
  • Daniel S. Anderson, MD, FACP (San Diego, CA)
  • Steve Bangert (Denver, CO)
  • Pat Bruce (Roanoke, VA)
  • James B. Conway (Woburn, MA)
  • Víctor Delgado Colón, MD (Manati, PR)
  • Karen Durham (Surprise, AZ)
  • Grant Freeman (Newport Beach, CA)
  • Patrick J. Geraghty (Jacksonville, FL)
  • David W. Glidden (Wilbraham, MA)
  • Kathleen H. Goss, PhD (Frankfort, IL)
  • Carmen E. Guerra, MD, MSCE, FACP (Philadelphia, PA)
  • Cindy Lombardo (Wayland, MA)
  • Maureen G. Mann, MS, MBA, FACHE (Boca Raton, FL)
  • Michael Marquardt (St. Petersburg, FL)
  • Elizabeth Martin (San Diego, CA)
  • Rick Q. Ngo, MD, FACS (Houston, TX)
  • Lenora Pate (Birmingham, AL)
  • Rhonda Pour (Freeburg, IL)
  • T.J. Ryan (Idaho Falls, ID)
  • Robianne Schultz (Perham, MN)
  • Rebecca “Becki” Ward (Honolulu, HI)
  • Jeanetta Wilson (Madison, AL)
  • No Comments

    Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.